Thursday, July 25, 2024

CRICKET: North Wales League Divisions 2-4 – Bangor seconds stun leaders, Corwen triumph – Grassroots North Wales | Championing Local Sport | Dave Jones Sportswriter |

Must read

Bangor seconds hero Sion Evans shone with bat and ball in a great win over leaders Marchwiel and Wrexham



Bangor 2nd XI (12) 126-9 Marchwiel and Wrexham 1st XI (3) 99-9

Player of the Match Sion Evans and Peter Jones picked up three wickets apiece as Bangor seconds stunned runaway Division Two leaders Marchwiel and Wrexham at Ty Newydd.
The Citizens lost the toss and were put in, rustling up a modest 126-9 off 35 overs, Will Banham a crucial 37 and Evans 21, Gareth Evans taking 4-18 and Matt Lawrenson 3-16 for the visitors.
In reply, M & W were limited to 99-9, Sam Heard Edwards 38 and Gareth Evans 34, Sion Evans 3-5, Jones 3-16 and Ollie Dawson 2-29 for the jubilant hosts, who are up to second in the table.

Corwen (12) 147-9 Pontblyddyn 2nd XI (3) 115-10

Jon Turner (38) and Richard Hughes (34) produced the vital knocks as Corwen posted a winning score at the War Memorial Park.
The home side, who were invited to bat, struck 147-9 off 35 overs, Turner and Hughes the chief contributors, while Sam Andrews (3-14) and Fraser Keay (3-18) impressed for Pont.
In response, the visitors were dismissed for 115, Keay (31 no) and Hannah Matthias (20) with a stubborn last-wicket stand, David Brilley adding 28.
For Corwen, William Pooler notched 3-18, Hughes 3-31, Steff Lloyd 2-3 and Liam Thomas 2-19. Points: 12-3.

Llay Welfare (3) 142-10 Mochdre 2nd XI (12) 184-10

Opener Thomas Opie top-scored with 63 as winners Mochdre seconds made 184 all out after being inserted by the opposition.
Owen Opie added 37 for the visitors, Jacob Roberts scooped 5-34 for the home side.
Llay were sent packing for 142, skipper Tom Parry standing out with 57, Finlay Jones 4-21 and Alex J Davies 3-19 for the winning team.

Menai Bridge 2nd XI (3) 103-8 Bersham (12) 105-7

Sathyajith Ihalagama hit an important 41 at the top of the order as Bersham edged home by three wickets at Tyn-y-Caeau Drive.
Winning the toss and deciding to field, the Colliers limited the Anglesey hosts to 103-8 off a reduced 30 overs, Paul Gower 24 not out, Ihalagama 2-16, Anirudh Menon 2-17 and Nilanka De Silva 2-22 for the visitors.
Bersham got home on 105-7 off 25.5, opener Ihalagama effort well-backed by Menon (24), Hari Williams grabbing a marvellous 4-8 off six for the Bridge.

Carmel and District (3) St Asaph 2nd XI (3)

Llanrwst (3) Gresford 2nd XI (3)


Buckley 2nd XI (13) 161-4 Clwb Criced Caernarfon (2) 160-6

Caernarfon skipper Ian Morgan not only faced the frustration of being stranded on 99 when his team’s innings finished – he also ended up on the losing side at Lane End.
The Cofis were put into bat and set a very useful 160-6 off a reduced 35 overs, Morgan’s 99 not out including 14 fours and two sixes.
For Buckley, Joe Hogg produced a superbly accurate 2-9 off seven overs.
Bucks got to a winning 161-4 off 34 overs, Samuel Jones 59 not out, Johnny Hewitt 42 to seal a 13-2 victory.

Connah’s Quay 2nd XI (11) 162-8 Denbigh 2nd XI (4) 160-2

In a contest cut to 30 overs per side because of the weather, Connah’s Quay eked out a two-wicket win with two balls to spare.
Put in by the Deesiders, Denbigh seconds concocted a decent 160-2, Gerallt Lyall 75 not out and Ethan Botterill 42.
Quay got over the line on 162-8 off 29.4, Jack Griffiths 50, Cole Hooson 46 and ninth-wicket pair Aaron Pearson and Matthew Dix putting on an unbroken stand of 19 to win the match.
John Lloyd-Williams snapped up 3-28 for the visitors, Lyall 2-26.

Conwy 2nd XI (3) 157-6 Pwllheli (12) 159-7

Daniel Pigott (50) and Ioan Jones (41 not out) did most to ensure Pwllheli celebrated a last-ball victory at Bodlondeb.
In a 30-over encounter, Conwy seconds reached 157-6, Stuart Watkins 54, Pigott 2-19 for the visitors, who finished on 159-7 to secure a 12-3 points verdict.
Opener Pigott and skipper Jones produced the match-tilting scores, Philip Davies 2-29 and Alex Price 2-26 for the home team.

Halkyn 2nd XI (1) 71-10 Bethesda 2nd XI (14) 156-4

Gethin Hughes topped the batting chart with 51 not out in Bethesda seconds’ match-clinching total of 156-4 off 30 overs at Pant Newydd.
Halkyn seconds were then blitzed out for 71 despite a spirited 34 from Will Baker, Hughes completing a great all-round game with 3-15, Dylan Hughes collecting 3-17 and Sopan Patil 2-23.

Hawarden Park 2nd XI (14) 145-10 Ruthin (1) 67-10

Leaders Ruthin were beaten for just the second time this season as nearest challengers Hawarden Park seconds rejoiced over a 78-run success at Moor Lane.
Luke Bennett’s 48 stood out as the hosts, put in by the table-toppers, posted 145 all out, Jason Jones 3-25, Matthew Duckworth 3-27 and Joshua Duckworth 2-5 for the away side.
Ruthin were then blown away for a mere 67, Jack Williams 4-6, Owen Ford 2-7 and Ahmed Javed 2-18 for an impressive Park attack.

Mold 2nd XI (3) Gwersyllt Park 2nd XI (3)


Marchwiel and Wrexham 2nd XI (3) 80-10 Carmel and District 2nd XI (12) 108-8

Certainly not for the first time in his long career Dafydd Timothy was the toast of Carmel after his four-wicket haul inspired the visitors to a great victory at Marchwiel Hall.
Put into bat, Carmel seconds posted 108-8 off 35 overs, Nick Hughes best with 30, Paul Baines 3-8 and Zahid Sharif 2-5 for the hosts.
Timothy then nabbed 4-13 off seven overs as M & W were rolled over for 80, Harry Nash chipping in with 2-13.

Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn (13) 165-8 Dolgellau 2nd XI (2) 94-10

A seventh-wicket stand of 93 between skipper Will Webster (55) and Andy Meakin (43) teed up Mynydd Isa and Maeshafn for victory at Argoed.
Asked to bat, the home side were floundering on 62-6 before the number seven and eight batsmen turned the tide. The final home total was 165-8 off 30 overs.
Daniel Conde pocketed 2-16, James Conde 2-18 and Dyfan Hughes 2-27 for the Dolgellau attack.
The away side were all back in the pavilion for 94, Sam Jones a stoic late 27 not out, Aryaman Arora 3-9, Saboor Afghan 2-9 and Naseer Ahmadzai 2-24 for the hosts.

Ruthin 2nd XI (14) 131-6 Abergele 2nd XI (1) 45-10

Disaster for second-place Abergele seconds as they crashed by 86 runs at Ruthin.
The home side registered 131-6 off 34, Ieuan Wynne Lewis 44 not out and skipper Alun Jones 33, Ebin Sebastian 2-17, Berwyn Thomas 2-19 and Owen Lynam 2-21 for Gele, who were then blitzed out for a paltry 45, Elliott Lewis 3-8, Jonas Roberts 3-10, Ned Roberts 2-11 and Harry Edwards 2-15 for the Vale of Clwyd outfit.

Bersham 2nd XI (15) Corwen 2nd XI (-15)
Corwen 2nd XI conceded

Llandudno 2nd XI (3) Hawarden Park 3rd XI (3)

Latest article